Book Review | Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) By Sarah J. Maas

I have three copies of this book… three!

One of them is a signed Waterstones copy, another has the special WHSmith’s short story (which is also signed from when I met her in person), and the hardcover version.

Do I regret buying that many copies? No?
Am I going to sell a copy? No…
What am I going to do with all the books? read them and cry? duh

15817858_971562339642821_917804478_o

Carrying on about my last rant about sticky flags (from my last post)- no I did not use any this time – I ran out. Instead, I wrote the page numbers down for when I do have the sticky flags… the page is a long mess and there is just a lot of stuff that made me break down – so like mentioned before, I will be creating separate blog posts that just consists of my favourite parts within the book. But please, comment or like if you would like to see that!

MOVING ON..

af.gif

I finished Empire of Storms last night, at around half past midnight, my mom was literally sitting opposite me wondering why I was sobbing so much reading this DAMNED book. She didn’t ask why, which is good but still – I’m sure most of you that have read the book would know why.

I woke up the next day and my eyes were literally stinging from the crying. It broke me – like Sarah, why?

SO before I formally begin my oscar speech about why Empire of Storms is such a great book… oh wait, it’s not a MOVIE, but it SURE SEEMED LIKE IT (yay imagination). I just wanted to say:

tumblr_o4c8z8ndxt1v7t0hvo1_500

I want to welcome you all to the Maas-Destruction support group, my name is Katerina and I am a survivor of the trauma that Queen Maas has brought amongst my fellow readers – I really love Sam Cortland and ship: Manon and Aelin, Lysandra and Aelin, and Rowaelin. So, be warned. This review contains SPOILERS!

ooobhsi

The first thing I would like to bring up is the independent *I don’t need no man, but they are here anyways* women! I love it! I would like to think myself as a Feminist, because I really do believe in what they fight for, and in the end I really love the fact that Aelin, Lysandra, Manon, Asterin, Elide, Kaltain and all the ladies in the Throne of Glass series are independent.

Like I understand that they all have love interests, Aelin who has (had) Sam (Rest in peace my beloved), Dorian, Chaol and now Rowan. But in the end, it is Aelin that is queen and she managed to execute so much for her country on her own! SHE has a whole army standing for her because of her individual actions that she has completed when she was still crowned Adarlan’s Assassin! I actually loved Celaena/Aelin the first time I met her. I understand that loads of people find her annoying but she is a Queen to me, even in the first book when she came out the Salt Mines of Endovier.

Manon is my next independent (love of my life) women, I love it. Okay, maybe she wasn’t independent when we first met her. I was like “eh? come on, you need to be strong as f*ck”.But then when she defied her grandbitch’s order and saved my beautiful Asterin, that was when I was like, “yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaas, praise Jesus Hallelujah my Manon is slaying and she a queeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeen.” So now Manon and Aelin share a special place in my heart.

Long Live Aelin and Manon.

So, who runs the world?

beyonce-girls

So, yeah. Feminism, yay!

Since we have been talking about the feminists in this book let me just carry on with my character analysis and what I thought about some punk-ass-bitches and flawless-ass-goddesses-and-gods in this book.

Elide. My dear, fragile, innocent Elide.
No, no, no.

At first, when I started EoS, I HATED the Elide bits. I literally, like, why are you this annoying? Okay, I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt; Even if you are afriad. (My name is Sam Cortland and I will not be afraid, rip) do you seriously have to get on my last nerve? – Okay, okay, we get you’re a Blackbeak and what-not, but do you really have to just compare yourself to Manon all the time? Either way, it got better as the book went on. When she saw Lorcan (which I shall rant about later because MAN). But, in the end, I don’t think I’m a massive fan of Elide, like okay, she’s brave with her broken ankle and is very loyal to my Queen – but meh. It wouldn’t be the end of the world if she had just disappeared in the woods. (Don’t kill me).

Here comes my Lorcan rant.
MY LORD THIS GUY.

This-Guy-Jim-Halpert-The-Office.gif

He was like, really irritating at the beginning. But at the end, OH MY LIFE, COME ON LORCAN SALVATERRE, GET YOUR LIFE TOGETHER HUNNY. THIS IS WAR AND YOU’RE BEING A LITTLE PATHETIC BITCH BECAUSE YOU’RE A VENGEFUL LITTLE SHIT AND IS IN LOVE WITH ELIDE. Seriously?

To be fair, he did redeem himself in the end. I was quite literally heartbroken for him but he is unacceptable during half of the book. Like, seriously, stop being a petty bitch and get a life.

So yeah.

MOVING ONTO MY BEAUTIFUL GODDESS, AELIN.

SovIWES.gif

I wish I was just as badass as that… but I can barely walk up the sixth form stairs (3 flights of stairs) without needing a second to catch my breath. 

She. literally. slayed. the. whole. fucking. book.

I mean, how does one slay as much as Aelin? She is a badass assassin that just happens to be the QUEEN (well heir) and the SAVIOUR of everyone. #JustSaying #lolyourenotaelin.

She raised an army of her own, she found a new pit in her powers and she managed to solve the “Nameless is my price” thing… kind of. God please don’t take Aelin away from us – to whatever end (right)? And then the last bit of the book. It literally broke my heart.

I don’t think you all understand my pain, I have loved her from the very beginning. I AM SAM TO CELAENA. And then when, Maeve made her strip and literally tortured her. A little piece of me died (I’m literally sobbing just thinking about it). AND AELIN PULLED A RHYSAND AND DIDN’T TELL ROWBAE THAT SHE WAS HIS MATE BECAUSE SHE CARED ABOUT HIM. OMl. I’m just gonna stop. It’s painful.

Nevertheless, Aelin is still my favourite female character.

 I could literally talk about the characters for so long because of how perfectly developed each and every one of them are. But that would defy the point of me reviewing the book, but I would just really want to talk about Manon, Rowan and Sam. (Why do I do this to myself?)

I LOVE LOVE LOVE WHAT MANON DID. Firstly, she is so in love with Dorian but she’s in such a bad denial stage that it is so friggin’ cute. Secondly, she saved my beautiful Dorian even if it meant killing her own, well, her “own”. Thirdly, SHE SAVED MY BABY ASTERIN EVEN IF IT MEANT DEFYING HER GRANDMOTHER’S ORDERS. I FUCKING LOVE MY BABYGIRL MANON. LIKE YOU SLAYING QUEEN.

Oh, and not to mention that she is an actual queen, it makes me sad that she rid of her red cloak though, it was like her signature look… but then again, it did belong to her sister… Well damn, this got deep pretty quickly.

Did I tell you how much I love the Thirteen?

Well if you didn’t know, I’m part of the Bookstagram Thirteen, so yeah 😀

bookstagram thirteen.jpg

*cough cough* damn self-promotion to myself and my thirteen *cough cough* but check us out at #TheBookstagramThirteen on Instagram! We all post under the tag so make sure you check it out!

Moving onto my bubba Rowan, he isn’t as beautiful as Rhysand but still, they’re both spices, aye?

 Having thought about it for a while, I see why people don’t approve of Rowaelin, I mean I guess you don’t really see them bond as much, but they are so similar as people that I understand.

I love the bond that Rowan had with his cousins, it was important, and I do love Rowan, but sometimes I don’t know he isn’t Sam… but he’s good for Aelin.

I think, the book, in the end, ruined me. I have yet to decide which was worse, A court of Mist and Fury (review here)  or this. Actually, I think they’re as bad as each other.

Queen Maas had pulled the same stunt on us twice now, and we didn’t even see it. I was shook when I got to the end.

(UPDATE: I’m writing this like a month after I’ve finished reading the book; I kind of left it too long to finish this review whoops)

But this will be the last spoil warning. I will now be going over the plot.

tumblr_inline_ni5h62tx8y1qbg2lu

So at the beginning of the book. Holy fucking shit.

Who the hell does “Lord” Darrow think he is?

You little fucking bitch. I hate you so much.

Aelin is clearly the rightful heir to Terrasen and yet you deny her her throne because she is a woman? or because she is young?

I don’t care. She is a good Queen. (IM STARTING TO SOB BECAUSE OF THE END OF THIS BOOK OKAY).

I mean, just because she was an assassin and  had killed and “served” for the enemy doesn’t mean she would be a bad queen.

SHE IS THE RIGHTFUL HEIR OF TERRASEN HOW DARE YOU DENY HER OF HER THRONE?

WHY JUDGE SOMEONE BY THEIR ACTIONS?

LEAVE AELIN ALONE!

tumblr_lipe8tv0qe1qb0bobo1_500

 tumblr_mp81i4qLpe1qmfnw5o1_400.gif

Haha, just kidding. But not really.

But then, the whole witches and Adarlan thing happened.

Can we just talk about how smol Dorian is.

I mean, I understand he is really powerful; but he’s so smol.

And can we talk about Manon?

Like, Manon youse slaying right now. You literally run the world.

And then everything happened

yadda yadda yadda.

Manon fights her grandma bitch.

tumblr_m94a7fk34I1qc3qsmo2_500.gif

Which I fucking call bullshit; surely Manon is more powerful. This Matron must be on hella steriods cause Manon is da qweeeen.

And then; blahh blah blah.

I just really wanna talk about the Rolfe and Aelin reunion.

That was so funny. I love how Lysandra had shifted into Aelin.

Aelin is like one of the sassiest characters ever and I love it.

BUT THEN THE WHOLE BLOODY FIGHT THING ON THE ISLAND HAPPENED AND I WAS LIKE YES SLAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY BUT THEN SHE WASNT IN CONTROL AND I WAS LIKE NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
BUT THEN THEY WON ANYWAY AND I WAS LIKE TEAM AELIN TEAM AELIN TEAM AELIN

Weekly-Recap-break-up-or-make-up-a-two-timing-player-and-foul-attitudes.gif

AND WHEN THEY WERE ON THE BEACH DOING IT

HOLY SMOKES

(hahahah get it? Cause Aelin is the fire-breathing bitch queen? hahaa)

tumblr_ogej4j52ww1ufw8o4o1_500

I don’t know about you but I hate it when I get sand between my toes. Imagine if you have it in your butt crack. Gah, the thought. 

tumblr_na4x5hmjud1smcbm7o1_500

And then; this and that happened.

And Lorcan ruined his favourite shirt so he can basically make period pads for my dear innocent Elide whom had grown into such a strong independant woman in this book, holy.

OfYGY.gif

And then we have the Dorian “is a sex god” Havilliard and Manon scenes.

tumblr_mp2ylpdJDG1ri60oio6_250_zpsab2132b4.gif

AND HTEN THE FUCJING FINAL SCENES/CHAPTERS;

LIKE OMG. CAN MANON AND AELIN JUST KISS AND BECOME BEST FRIENDS CAUSE I TOTALLY SHIP THIS FRIENDSHIP (get it? cause its friendSHIP)

And then like; fucking Aelin getting whipped by Meave

tumblr_m3s8quwvws1r0adt2

and it turns out they Rowan and Aelin are actually mates

cry-crying-crying-gif-crying-gif-tumblr-cryinggif-tvd-the-vampire-diaries-damon-elena-delena-elena-gilbert-damon-salvatore-dex

but she didn’t tell him because she loved him and didn’t want to force the truth on him

tumblr_maeo59x3p61r25xgk

and even Manon was moved by it

tumblr_maeo5nnpq41r25xgk

LIEK SARAH J MAAS.

WHY

tumblr_moekwjcynq1s49x9io1_250

My mum was sitting opposite me when I finished it. I looked like crying Kim Kardashian for the longest time.

SO yeah. Now I have to wait another year and a half for tog6.

because of Kale.

OH KALE NO.

wedding-crashers-wtf

ANYWAYS.

I hope you all have a lovely week; until next time.

Happy reading,
-Katerina 👸🏻⚔

Goodreads | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube

Leave a Reply

