Book Review |Sinful Cinderella by Anita Valle

wedding-crashers-wtf

I read this book in an hour. AN HOUR GODS DAMN IT. Okay, it was 156 pages long but it was a legitimately painful 156 pages, 60 minutes.

I’ll tell you now, when I first picked it up I thought I was reading my 8-year-old diary again. It was utterly painful to read.

giphy

I never felt so stupid in my life – I felt like I was reading something I shouldn’t have been reading, like whoopsies, maybe I picked up someones diary by accident, I mean that’s possible, right? Cause it sure felt like that.

Well actually, despite the horrid way that this novel (if you could call it that) was written, I really loved the plot behind this twisted Cinderella story. I mean it could’ve been written 110% better but the story was worth reading.

JUST A QUICK SPOILER WARNING (CONTINUE AT YOUR OWN RISK):

I mean, we all know the fairytale by Disney – Cinderella, the beautiful, kind-hearted young lady that quite literally found her prince charming at the ball held for him because his father, the King, wanted grandchildren.

Then, there’s the live action story, where Ella is young, beautiful and again, kind-hearted. Went to a ball because the Prince’s father was dying. (Well this is actually quite depressing).

large

The Grimm Brother’s version is slightly more.. well grim, where her stepsisters actually cut their toes off to try and fit the glass slipper on their feet… Yikes.

And then this takes “fairytale” to the next level.

Cinderella is EVIL.

Like, literally EVIL. She used white (pure) magic to make herself look beautiful, she is actually ugly and has a UGLIER HEART. It was such a twist but it’s known from the very beginning of the book.

The first few chapters escalated really quickly – we were able to see Cinderella sew together dresses for her stepsisters for the ball (because apparently, every good deed completed the girl gets more white magic or powder or whatever the heck). And the next minute, well, they’re at the ball.

SO it’s all okay and then she meets the prince’s daughter (what?) and blah blah blah. He asked her to walk in the garden and then up to his room or some room. And he turns out to be a murderer of his previous wife and a domestic abuser?!

download

I’m sorry what?

I mean I kind of understand the whole Cinderella being evil and what not, but this threw me off a lot. Like.. what? Actually, I’m still taking time to process what I had actually read. He abuses women?

Yeah.. well anyway she gets away blah blah blah, and then you all know what happens next…

tumblr_n5qfcesstf1sg4toho1_500

HAHA WOULD YOU LOOK AT THAT. He has the slipper, what a surprise.

But then the last few chapters were literally a blur when the price went to “propose” to Cinderella, I guess (?), Cinderella kills her stepmom and then gets forced to marry the prince…

and this isn’t even the crazy part.

CINDERELLA IS THE EVIL STEPMOTHER OF SNOW WHITE (OH BITCH YOU GUESSED IT). The Prince’s daughter is Snow White.

Which leads on to the next book which I am not going to read, I’ll just find someone to summarize it for me on Goodreads or something cause that was a painful but eventful one hour.

Overall, I gave the book 3 stars. 1 for it being free on Amazon, another two for the plot.

Happy reading,
-Katerina 👸🏻⚔

Goodreads | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube

Leave a Reply

